Stepping Out on My Own: The Chronicles of a First-Time Entrepreneur

22 Jun

This is the first in a series of posts about one woman going out on her own, making money and bringing home the bacon. Enjoy!

Picture this: You are just months away from your college graduation and you get offered an opportunity of the lifetime. You seized said opportunity and feel that life couldn’t be better. Then the economy starts to tank and you are personally affected. What is a gal to do went she loses her job? The answer: Go out of her own.

This is exactly what happens to me about eight months ago. I landed a great internship, was able to stay on pass my college graduation but then the recession hit. So while looking for a job (and I am still looking) I thought why not make my own money. Being your own boss is not easy task. There is a lot of researching, time, and planning that goes into becoming successful. The only plan I had in place was to get a job before graduation. I had no back up plan. I kept putting off the idea of freelance on the side. It wasn’t until I was put into a situation where I had to start thinking on my feet and get my act together. So the past couple of months I been doing my homework and making a game plan.

So tip #1 to my fellow women who have found themselves in the same position, is have a game plan and at least two alternatives just in case plan A falls apart. Tip #2: network, network, network. No one would know that you are looking for a job and/or clients if you don’t get out there and tell them. And last but not least tip #3: believe in yourself. Believe that you can do anything that you set your mind to.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

