5 Questions: Jessica Delfino, Performer

10 Mar

n585963336_1408658_3380.jpgBanned by the US Catholic League for her dirty ditties and ribald jokes, controversial New York musician Jessica Delfino combines a host of quirky videos and instruments, from the flying-V ukelele to the rape whistle, with her own smart and edgy brand of comedy. She has performed in many festivals such as the Montreal Comedy Festival, Edinburgh Fringe Fest, Dublin Comedy Festival, NY International Children’s Film Festival and more. She has written songs for the documentary “What Would Jesus Buy?” and has had her music videos featured on YouTube and Myspace.  Visit Jessica’s Wikipedia entry to read her extended bio.

 

1.  How did you get started doing what you do?

I had a very funny Italian family and we watched a lot of movies and stand up comedy together. Later in life I met a comedian who told me that women couldn’t be comedians. That combo platter pretty much sealed the deal. I also heard that my great grandmother (my grandfather’s mother, but she was also pretty great) was a very ribald woman who told dirty jokes all the time, so it may even have been beyond my control. I might have been forced into this line of work by nature and genetics. Thanks a lot, DNA!!

 

2.  What is your biggest joy and what is your biggest headache?

Biggest joy – appreciation for what I do, from peers I love and admire and from miscellaneous weirdos alike.  There is nothing like hundreds of people in a room laughing at something I wrote, or someone I have silently admired for years from afar emailing me to say they love my work.

Biggest headache – flying. I cannot WAIT for the instant teleporter machine to hurry up and be invented already.  (What is this, 1954?  Where’s the damn insta-porter?)

 

3.  Where do you spend most of your time online (business-wise)?

Watching videos on YouTube (mostly old Chaka Khan and other music videos) and dicking around on Facebook.  It may sound like I’m just horsing around but I actually get a lot from those sites.

 

4.  What is the one thing, person, service or resource you can’t do without?

Mac products have really changed my life. My MacBook is an amazing piece of machinery, and my iPhone makes me feel like I’m super-organized even when I’m not. With those two tools, I can run my whole business anywhere in the world.  Of course, the technology is useless without my guitar, my flying-V ukulele and my rape whistle and other instruments with which I use to kick out the jams. But ultimately, a pen and piece of paper is really all I need.

 

5.  What do you wish someone had told you the day you started your business?

Welcome to your vampire lifestyle. You are going to be busting your ass every second that you’re awake for many, many years to come. The Catholic League will denounce you, Youtube will ban and remove your videos, and industry people and peers will try to sabotage you. But then other surprise people and heroes and great shows will keep you going. You are going to fall into bed like a baked potato around 2 or 3 AM every night. You are going to have to fly a lot. But now that I think of it, someone did tell me all that. And I did it anyway. 

One Response to “5 Questions: Jessica Delfino, Performer”

  1. hXc March 12, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    If I had a daughter JD would be one of her heroes, but I don’t & she still is. Co-sign on the Macs~ hXc

Leave a Reply

